Commonwealth Book and Short Story Prize Shortlists 2013

by - 16:01

On April 9, the shortlists for the 2013 Commonwealth Prizes were announced. 21 writers made the Book Prize Shortlist, including Sarah House by Ifeanyi Ajaegbo (Nigeria), The Spider King's Daughter by Chibundu Onuzo (Nigeria), The Great Agony and Pure Laughter of the Gods by Jamala Safari (South Africa) and Sterile Sky by E.E Sule (Nigeria). The Book Prize is awarded for first best book published between 1 January and 31 December 2012. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000.

For the Short Story Prize, 19 writers were shortlisted including A Killing in the Sun by Dilman Dila (Uganda), Fatima Saleh by Alexander Ikawah (Kenya), The New Customers by Julian Jackson (South Africa), No War is Worth Debating by Tobenna Nwosu (Nigeria) and Take Me Home United Road by S.A Partridge (South Africa). The Short Story Prize is awarded for the first best piece of unpublished fiction with regional winners receiving £1,000 and overall winner receiving £5,000. 

Regional winners will be announced May 14th and the overall winner will be announced at the Hay Festival on May 31stYou can read more about the writers and their stories here (Book Prize) and here (Short Story Prize).

Congratulations and good luck to all the shortlisters!!!

You May Also Like