Commonwealth Book and Short Story Prize Shortlist 2012: African Region

by - 20:57

The shortlists for the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Prize were announced today. This replaces the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book and Best First Book. Three African authors - Ellen Banda-Aaku (Zambia), Shelley Harris (South Africa), and Jacques Strauss (South Africa) are included in the shortlist for the book prize. For the short story prize five authors are included - Jekwu Anyaegbuna (Nigeria), Jayne Bauling (South Africa), Edyth Bulbring (South Africa), Khadija Magardie (South Africa), and Juno Bridget Pitt (South Africa). Writers from around the world have been shortlisted for each prize (I have only showcased the shortlisted African authors) and regional winners will be named May 22nd and the overall winners will be announced at the Hay Festival on June 8th.

The full shortlist can be found here.

You May Also Like